January 9, 2013

The Great Hunt of the Horn of Valere Begins



I am now halfway finished reading the second book of The Wheel of Time, The Great Hunt. 





The book picks up pretty much where The Eye of the World ended, although it's not 'direct' it feels more like a sequel. Time has elapsed, one adventure is over, another will begin etc... 

Robert Jordan continues to make the main characters interesting, while adding in a few new minor ones. Since we already have the back story of where the main characters come from, and how the world 'works', he jumps straight into the action and suspense, while pulling us deeper into the world.  

Another quest is presented - to retrieve something that has been stolen very early on in the book. The adventure / quest feel from the first novel is retained, though this time it feels kind of like Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli tracking down Merry and Pippin in Lord of the Rings, while getting closer and finding clues along the way. We also to get know a bit more about the Aes Sedai, as well as we get a glimpse of Tar Valon within the first half of the book. 

I definitely do plan to read the remaining books in the series. They are fun, adventure quest stories in the vein of Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, etc where there is a person (or a group of people) trying to get somewhere, get something, or do something in particular with high stakes. There is plenty of suspense along the way to keep the pages turning.

A good, quick 'fun' read. I'll post my review once I finish the book, as well as the rest of the series. Aside from those, that's it for for my Wheel of Time, entries, i swear! There have been a few lately. 

bottom line: if you like Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings, and typical adventure fantasy, give the series a try. It doesn't 'redefine' the genre, or is deep like A Song of Ice and Fire, but it is 'typical' fantasy at it's best. 

Tomorrow look for a post entitled 'A Trilogy in Five Parts'. 

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Dude these books will read you.
You cannot imagine the depth at which these characters go. Read until the end and mourn when there are no more books left to read.